• Strongsville High School
    Distinguished Alumni


    Our next Distinguished Alumni event is scheduled for Spring, 2020. Make plans to join us as we recognize the next class of SHS Distinguished Alumni at a luncheon on TBD date. The luncheon is in partnership with the Strongsville Chamber of Commerce.

    Want to nominate a deserving individual to be a part of
    this year's class of SHS Distinguished Alumni?


    Nomination forms to be printed, filled out, and mailed (or emailed)
    may be found HERE

    -- or --

    Click HERE
    for an online nomination form


    We once again congratulate and recognize past recipients in our Distinguished Alumni program:
    Class of 2019
    Mrs. Jane (Yanacsek) Swiger (SHS Class of 1970)
    Mr. Paul Sidoti (SHS Class of 1989)
    Class of 2018
    Thomas Laub (SHS Class of 1964) 
    Dr. Steven Houser (SHS Class of 1985)
    Chef Jonathon Sawyer (SHS Class of 1998)
    Class of 2008
    Dr. Tim Rademaker (SHS Class of 1965)
    Raymond J. Wohl (SHS Class of 1969)
    Class of 2007
    Dr. Frank J. Kuntz (SHS Class of 1956)
    Dr. David Sharkey (SHS Class of 1969)
    Richard A. Puzzitello, Jr. (SHS Class of 1980)
    Ken Mehalko (Music Director)
    Class of 2004
    Rochelle Thuener (SHS Class of 1968)
    Robert Kroupa (SHS Class of 1976)
    David Harbart (SHS Class of 1980)
    Rea Cantwell (Teacher, Assistant Principal, Principal)
    Class of 2003
    Louis Morton Bedford (Elementary Teacher)
    Lois Hunger Alexander (SHS Class of 1957)
    Kathleen Aylsworth Brantigan (SHS Class of 1965)
    John M. Bedford (SHS Class of 1970)
    Mark Cummins (SHS Class of 1983)
    Class of 2002
    John W. Joy (SHS Class of 1941)
    Michael W. Herb (SHS Class of 1970)
    David G. Hale (SHS Class of 1975)
    Louise E. Sanderson (SHS Class of 1920)
    Class of 2001
    William J. Harr, Jr. (SHS Class of 1980)
    Carole L. Maatz (SHS Class of 1943)
    Diane Bennett (Teacher of Business Education 1968-2000)
    John G. Peters (SHS Class of 1963)
    Marsha A. Van Valkenburg (Teacher of English & Biology 1983-1998)
    Class of 2000
    Carol Petersen (English Teacher 1959-1990)
    James H. Jerome (SHS Class of 1949)
    Walter F. Ehrnfelt (SHS Class of 1951)
    Dorothy Fuller Richards (SHS Class of 1932)
    Margaret Raub Hunt (Mathematics Teacher 1978-1995)
    Class of 1999
    James K. Bowman (SHS Class of 1951)
    Karen M. Fandrich (SHS Class of 1983)
    Daniel M. Varisco (SHS Class of 1969)
    Thomas A. Hoch (SHS Class of 1966)
    Class of 1998
    Eugene P. Morton (SHS Class of 1939)
    Patricia Miller Shorner (SHS Class of 1973)
    James E. Rademaker (Teacher & Coach 1947-1978)
    Lewis A. Lenkaitis (SHS Class of 1936)
    Reverend Dennis O'Grady (SHS Class of 1951)
    Class of 1997
    J. Patrick Spirnak, M.D. (SHS Class of 1969)
    Walter D. Skoczen (Science Teacher 1967-1990)
    Dale R. Finley (SHS Class of 1953)
    Florence May (SHS Class of 1935)
    Class of 1996
    Dr. Thomas Surrarrer (SHS Class of 1924)
    Dr. Martin Taliak (SHS Class of 1922)
    Dick Miller (Teacher & Coach 1954-1985)
    Dr. Holly Perzy-Gall (SHS Class of 1981)
    Class of 1995
    Bessie Kinsner (Math Teacher 1947-1974)
    Russell R. Gifford (SHS Class of 1957)